AT A LUNCHEON CEREMONY held on Monday, March 2, 2015 in the Sovereign Ballroom of downtown Toronto’s Omni King Edward Hotel, author Plum Johnson was named the winner of The 2015 RBC Taylor Prize for her book They Left Us Everything, published by Penguin Canada. Noreen Taylor, chair of the Charles Taylor Foundation, announced the winner’s name before a packed audience of invited guests, publishers, and media, and presented her with a cheque for $25,000 and a specially commissioned crystal award, designed by Toronto graphic designer Peter Enneson, and created by Cascade Crystal. The remaining nominees each received a $2,000 honorarium.
      Prior to the winner announcement, each of the prize finalists — Plum Johnson author of They Left Us Everything, published by Penguin Canada; David O’Keefe author of One Day in August: The Untold Story Behind Canada’s Tragedy at Dieppe, published by Random House Canada; Barbara Taylor author of The Last Asylum: A Memoir of Madness in our Times, published by Hamish Hamilton Canada; M. G. Vassanji author of And Home Was Kariakoo: A Memoir of East Africa, published by Doubleday Canada; and Kathleen Winter author of Boundless, published by House of Anansi Press — were individually congratulated on stage by jurors Kevin Garland, Martin Levin and Andrew Preston and presented with a leather-bound copy of their shortlisted book, created by Felton Bookbinding of Georgetown, Ontario.
      In late March Plum Johnson will announce the 2015 winner of the RBC Taylor Emerging Author award. The winning author will receive $10,000 and the opportunity to be mentored under Plum Johnson.