AT A NEWS CONFERENCE HELD ON Wednesday, January 14th, jurors Kevin Garland, Martin Levin, and Andrew Preston, named five authors as this year’s finalists for The 2015 RBC Taylor Prize. The five finalists are:
• Plum Johnson (Toronto, Ontario) for They Left Us Everything, published by Penguin Canada
• David O’Keefe (Montreal, Quebec) for One Day in August: The Untold Story Behind Canada’s Tragedy at Dieppe, published by Random House Canada
• Barbara Taylor (London, England) for The Last Asylum: A Memoir of Madness in our Times, published by Hamish Hamilton Canada
• M. G. Vassanji (Toronto, Ontario) for And Home Was Kariakoo: A Memoir of East Africa, published by Doubleday Canada
• Kathleen Winter (Montreal, Quebec) for Boundless, published by House of Anansi Press
    The RBC Taylor Prize recognizes excellence in Canadian non-fiction writing and emphasizes the development of the careers of the authors it celebrates. All five finalists will be supported by extensive publicity and promotional opportunities, including a mid-cycle author event. As well, they will appear at The Globe and Mail/ Ben McNally Authors' Brunch on Sunday, March 1th. For tickets: Join the five finalists on February 26 starting at 7 pm at the Toronto Reference Library for a free Round Table discussion. Visit:
    This marks the fourteenth awarding of The RBC Taylor Prize. The prize consists of $25,000 and a crystal trophy for the winning author and $2,000 for each of the runners-up as well as extensive national publicity and promotional support to help all books stand out in the national media and book retailers across the country. The winner of this year's prize will be announced at a gala luncheon and awards ceremony at The King Edward Hotel in downtown Toronto on Monday, March 2nd.
    Sharing a commitment to emerging Canadian artists, The Charles Taylor Foundation and RBC will again grant
RBC TAYLOR PRIZE EMERGING WRITERS AWARD. The winner selected by the shortlisted authors will receive a $10,000 cash prize and the opportunity to be mentored under the 2015 RBC Taylor Prize winner.