AT A LUNCHEON CEREMONY held on Monday, March 5, 2012 in the Sovereign Ballroom of downtown Toronto’s Le Meridien King Edward Hotel, author Andrew Westoll was named the winner of the 2012 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction for his book The Chimps of Fauna Sanctuary: A Canadian Story of Resilience and Recovery, published by HarperCollins. Noreen Taylor, chair of the Charles Taylor Foundation, announced the winner’s name before a packed audience of invited guests, publishers, and media, and presented him with a cheque for $25,000 and a specially commissioned crystal award, designed by Toronto graphic designer Peter Enneson, and created by Cascade Crystal. The remaining nominees each received a $2,000 honorarium.
      Prior to the winner announcement, each of the prize finalists — Wade Davis, author of Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory and the Conquest of Everest, published by Canada; Charlotte Gill, author of Eating Dirt: Deep Forests, Big Timber, and Life with the Tree-Planting Tribe, published by Greystone Books in partnership with the David Suzuki Foundation; JJ Lee, author of The Measure of a Man: The Story of a Father, A Son, and a Suit, published by McClelland & Stewart; and Madeline Sonik, author of Afflictions & Departures: Essays, published by Anvil Press — were individually congratulated on stage by jurors Stevie Cameron and Susan Renouf and presented with a leather-bound copy of their shortlisted book, created by Felton Bookbinding of Georgetown, Ontario.